empty classroom

The SSAT Flex Test

What's the Difference Between Standard and Flex?

There are two types of SSAT administrations:

  1. Standard - A Standard SSAT is given on eight designated Saturdays (and Sundays for those with approved accommodations for religious observance) during the academic year at test sites around the world.
  2. Flex - A Flex SSAT is given to an individual or group on any date other than the Standard dates.

The SSAT Flex Test

You may only take one Flex test in a testing year (August 1 - July 31). After taking a Flex test, any additional SSATs you take in the same testing year must be Standard tests. 

Flex tests may be given by member schools or approved educational consultants. If you need to take a Flex test, ask the school to which you are applying if they provide Flex testing, or use the "Flex Test With Consultant" tab on the SSAT Test Center Search.

Elementary Level Flex tests may be given only by schools; educational consultants cannot provide Elementary Level Flex tests.

*Please note: There is an additional administrative fee associated with Flex testing with educational consultants. Please check with your educational consultant prior to testing to determine their fee structure.

Types of Flex Test Administrations:

Open Flex Test

If a school hosts a group test on a non-Standard date and makes registration open to the public, it is considered a Flex test. These tests are available to all registrants.

Closed Flex Test

If you are testing with an educational consultant or taking an individual or small group test that has been prearranged at a member school, you will take a "closed" Flex test. To register, you will need an access code, which is obtained directly from the school or educational consultant. You should only register for a closed Flex test if you have already made an appointment or have been given instructions to test.